The origins of a location represent the bond between past and present, a sodality that relives in its style, its attention to detail and the welcome it extends to guests; all of which is true of Palazzo Coli Bizzarrini, whose history goes back as far as the Renaissance period of Siena.
It was in that period of great artistic ferment that the Palazzo Francesconi project was first conceived, and implemented by Baldassarre Peruzzi, one of the architects who left his mark on the history of Italy, who subsequently entrusted his worthiest pupil, Pietro Cattaneo, with the completion of the work.
Palazzo Coli Bizzarrini impresses visitors with the charm of an uncompleted work: initially, the southern facade of the dwelling was meant to extend and incorporate the two pre-existing buildings standing to the east, with the intent of paying a tribute to the magnificence of Bernardo Francesconi, who had commissioned the building.
Today Palazzo Coli Bizzarrini stands as one of the most representative works of the XVI century architectural style, converted into a hospitality structure offering impeccable services. The history of this residence is intertwined with the city’s treasures.
In fact, the Museo del Palazzo Pubblico of Siena safeguards the medal with the effigies of Francesconi and the date on which the first stone was laid: 1520. Owing to its particular characteristics, the residence is subject to restrictions stipulated by Law no. 1089 of 01/06/1939 for “the protection of artifacts of artistic and historic interest”, an official acknowledgement of the exclusive nature of this residence.
Today, Palazzo Coli Bizzarrini stands as one of the most florid examples of the Renaissance period, just a few metres away from the great masterpieces of Siena.